6 Horror Graphic Novels for Elementary and Tween Readers

I love horror of all kinds—horror novels, movies, podcasts, short stories—but I especially love horror graphic novels. The illustrations show how scary the artist wants the story to be, but the text lets our imaginations run wild. To celebrate Halloween, check out these six spooky graphic novels for elementary and tween readers. Three young boys…
View More about 6 Horror Graphic Novels for Elementary and Tween Readers

Damsel Readalikes for Teens

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, the prince was ready to become the king. But first, he had to battle a dragon, rescue the damsel, bring her back to his castle and marry her. That was how it had always been and how it would always be. No one ever knew where the…
View More about Damsel Readalikes for Teens

Curiously George: Celebrate H.A. Rey’s 120th Birthday

September marks the 120th anniversary of the birth of H.A. Rey, one half of the team that created the iconic Curious George book series. Margaret and George H.A. Rey created this beloved character from humble beginnings in Germany. Celebrate H.A. Rey by reading these timeless classics. Curious George: Read the book that started all the…
View More about Curiously George: Celebrate H.A. Rey’s 120th Birthday

Fall in Love with Reading

There are many ways to celebrate this season of change. Visiting festivals, and farmers' markets, cycling by the lakefront or through a canopy of changing leaves or just viewing the ethereal blue skies and crimson sunsets give us time to pause. As the days become shorter, we tend to focus inward. Does the fall television season…
View More about Fall in Love with Reading

Celebrate American Archives Month

October is American Archives Month! Have you ever visited one of Chicago Public Library's special collections to see our archives? Researched black history at the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature at Woodson Regional Library? Gotten chills from discovering a historical document in Special Collections at Harold Washington Library Center? Or…
View More about Celebrate American Archives Month
1 - 10 of 26