Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Like all native Chicagoans, I proudly claim the city as my hometown. And when I say "the city" I mean within the city limits, not the suburbs. We're very specific about that. These teen fiction books chronicle daily life in Sweet Home Chicago. One local author who perfectly captures the vibe of the Northwest Side…
View More about Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Brontë Readalikes for Teens

To celebrate the bicentennial of Emily Brontë's birth, check out these teen fiction titles based on the classic novels and the lives of the Brontë sisters. Emily and Charlotte investigate the mysterious death of a local madwoman that ends up inspiring their stories in Always Emily. In My Plain Jane, Charlotte Brontë convinces her school friend…
View More about Brontë Readalikes for Teens

Teen Novels by Debut Authors

Always looking for the newest teen fiction? Check out these four debut authors talking about their books at the Teen Debut Author Panel at Sulzer Regional Library on Saturday, July 14. Their novels represent a variety of genres including realistic fiction, fantasy and fairy tale retellings. In Megan Bannen's The Bird and the Blade, a Chinese…
View More about Teen Novels by Debut Authors

Comics for Han Solo Fans

When I was 5, I totally wanted to marry Han Solo. I mean, I understood that he was a fictional character (sort of), but I really hoped he'd escape from the carbonite in Jabba's palace so we could proceed with our wedding plans. And now the scruffy looking nerf herder takes top billing in Solo…
View More about Comics for Han Solo Fans

Simon Readalikes You’ll Love

On March 16, Love, Simon, the film version of Morris Award-winning Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, debuts in theaters. If you're looking for more charming LGBTQ romances, try these fiction titles for teens. Author Becky Albertalli's friend Adam Silvera also writes touching romances. My favorite is History Is All You Left Me, a bittersweet story of…
View More about Simon Readalikes You’ll Love

Teen Books Inspired by Frankenstein

Two hundred years ago, 20-year-old Mary Shelley published her horror classic, Frankenstein. Since then, countless authors have gained inspiration from her novel. Here are few of the best reimaginings of her masterpiece for teens. In This Dark Endeavor, teen Victor Frankenstein searches for the Elixir of Life to cure his twin brother's illness. Be sure to read…
View More about Teen Books Inspired by Frankenstein

More 2017 Teen Books We Love

If you're loving our annual Best of the Best lists, here are even more noteworthy books for teens published in 2017.  If you loved Nowhere Girls but want something more light-hearted, try Moxie. Inspired by her mom's Riot Grrrl days, Viv self-publishes her own zine to protest the sexual harassment taking place in her high…
View More about More 2017 Teen Books We Love
1 - 10 of 59