Eisner Awards Readalikes: Stellar Graphic Novels

The winners of the 2019 Eisner Awards were just announced at Comic-Con in San Diego. Grab these stellar titles at your local library ASAP, and while you're there, pick up some similar titles to spark your interest.

Tom King won a bunch of awards this year, including Best Limited Series for Mister Miracle. If you want another thought-provoking, unconventional superhero story, give The Vision a whirl.

Giant Days won for both Best Continuing Series and Best Humor Publication. If you enjoy the series' lighthearted female bonding, try Heavy Vinyl

Jen Wang was also a big winner, scoring the Best Publication for Teens award and the Best Writer/Artist award for her phenomenal book The Prince and the Dressmaker. For more dreamy artistry with floral flourishes, check out Bloom

I'm a huge fan of Brazen, which won for Best U.S. Edition of International Material. Another excellent feminist comic by an international author is The Ultimate Survival Guide to Being A Girl by Belgian cartoonist Christina De Witte.

For the younger kids in your life, Johnny Boo and the Ice Cream Computer won Best Publication for Early Readers. Its silly vibe reminds me of Snail & WormThe Divided Earth won Best Publication for Kids. If you like the sweeping adventure of the Nameless City series, try Pandora's Legacy



What Eisner winner will you read this summer? 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library