Sabrina: Magical Readalikes for Teens

If you're like me and have already binged the entirety of Netflix's Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (based on the creepy 2016 graphic novel Chilling Adventures of Sabrina), you're in need of some reads to hold you over until season 2 drops.

If you're in the mood for more spells—hopefully something that fares better than Sabrina and the resurrection spell—try Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova. Alex is a fierce bi Latina heroine who happens to be the most powerful witch of her generation, which she considers to be a not-so-magical curse. When a spell backfires, sending her family to the underworld, she must delve into the world of magic to save the ones she loves. 

Want a book that packs the same amount of drama as the Weird Sisters? In Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, you're introduced to the world of Simon Snow, who is the absolute worst at magic. It's his last year at Watford School of Magicks and instead of wanting to kill his nemesis, Baz, he just wants to kiss him. This is a love story-ghost story hybrid wrapped in a mystery that Harry Potter fanfic fans are sure to love.

Need more spooky stories? Try the twisted fairy tales in The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo, author of the Grisha trilogy. These six magical stories weave folklore and myth with lustrous illustrations that capture the same dark vibe as Sabrina.

What do you plan to read while waiting for season 2?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library