Brontë Readalikes for Teens

To celebrate the bicentennial of Emily Brontë's birth, check out these teen fiction titles based on the classic novels and the lives of the Brontë sisters.

Emily and Charlotte investigate the mysterious death of a local madwoman that ends up inspiring their stories in Always Emily.

In My Plain Jane, Charlotte Brontë convinces her school friend Jane Eyre that she's wasting her time as a governess. Instead, she wants Jane to use her ability to see ghosts by taking a job with the Society for the Relocation of Wayward Spirits.

For a very different retelling of Jane Eyre, there's Brightly Burning. Stella takes a job as a governess on the spaceship Rochester and ends up falling in love with the captain.

If you prefer historical fiction, Stone Field uses Wuthering Heights as inspiration but is set during the Civil War.

April Lindner has written several updated versions of the Brontës' novels, including Jane and Catherine.

If you're more interested in a nonfiction book about Emily and Jane, try The Brontë Sisters. Catherine Reef's biographies always read like juicy novels.

What's your favorite book about the Brontë sisters?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library