Hop into the TARDIS: Books for Young Whovians

I’m a huge fan of Doctor Who, so I’m excited the new season has begun. One great thing about the show is it’s for the whole family. If you’re a young fan, check out these reads that have a Doctor Who feel. (Bonus: In honor of Jodie Whittaker as the first female Doctor, all of these books have girls as main characters.)

In this graphic novel, Sanity & Tallulah live on a space station and get up to all sorts of adventures—like chasing a giant three-headed cat! They seem like the sort of kids who’d become friends with the Doctor on one of her adventures.  

If your favorite part of Doctor Who is the “timey-wimey stuff,” check out When You Reach Me. In this book, 12-year-old Miranda starts getting notes from a stranger that seem to predict the future—and that’s just the start of the weirdness.  

My favorite episode of last season was “Demons of the Punjab,” about the partition of India in 1947. Because of it, I was eager to read The Night Diary, which is about the same event. This is a beautiful book that’s perfect for fans of Doctor Who’s historical episodes.  

On Doctor Who, alien invasions aren’t always scary—sometimes they’re a bit ridiculous. I laughed out loud multiple times while reading The True Meaning of Smekday, about an 11-year-old girl road-tripping with an alien named J.Lo after aliens have conquered Earth.  

And when it comes to science fiction, you can’t go wrong with the classic A Wrinkle in Time. The book’s message of hope and love in the face of darkness will feel familiar to Doctor Who fans. 

If the Doctor invited you into the TARDIS, where would you want to go? 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library