Black Panther Readalikes for Teens

Hands up if you're super excited about the Black Panther movie coming out February 16! I, personally, have not been this excited for a movie in a very long time. If you've been watching the trailer over and over in anticipation, here are some Black Panther-related titles to check out before the movie premieres. 

Black Panther & the Crew by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Yona Harvey, Butch Huice and John Cassaday depicts Black Panther's rogue team of allies. T'Challa's "crew" includes Luke Cage, Misty Knight and Storm, who all bring their own brand of awesome. The first issue deals with police brutality, artfully combining timely issues with the heroics we expect in a superhero comic. Plus it's nice to see a mix of genders battling the bad guys.

Jason Reynolds is one of the reigning kings of teen fiction, and he doesn't disappoint in this novelization of the comic Miles Morales, Spider-Man. Miles is an Afro-Puerto Rican teen who attends an elite boarding school in Brooklyn, struggling to balance a complicated life with his duties as a superhero. Reynolds' writing is quick and vivid, and he doesn't shy away from issues of racism in the modern world. 

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur by Brandon Montclare introduces readers to Lunella Lafayette—age 9 and the smartest girl in the world. She lives in mortal fear of her latent Inhuman gene, afraid of what she might turn into. When she accidentally teleports a dinosaur into our present day, they become friends... or are they? Funny and charming, this is a great title for slightly younger teens. 

What are your favorite Black Panther-related comics?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library