Magical Teen Reads for Fans of Carry On and Wayward Son

Wayward Son, the long-awaited sequel to Rainbow Rowell's Carry on, is out now! If you love the story of Simon, Baz and Penelope, why not try one of these magical teen reads? Chosen Ones, friends, romance, danger and humor abound in these tales.

In These Witches Don't Burn, set in Salem, Mass., Elemental Witch Hannah must work with her ex-girlfriend Veronica to stop a dark force.  

Set in a fantastical dystopic United States, The Fever King follows 16-year-old Noam Álvaro, the sole survivor of an outbreak that killed his family and left him with magical technological skills. The son of undocumented immigrants, Noam has lived as an outsider fighting for the rights of refugees, but his new skills grant him power to make changes in the government he despises.

Alice, the 17-year-old heroine of The Hazel Wood, is decidedly fairy tale averse. But when her mother goes missing, she teams up with Ellery, an obsessed fan of the dark feminist fairy tales written by Alice's grandmother, to solve the mystery.

In Ink, Iron, and Glass, Elsa's mother, a scriptologist, imagines their world into reality by writing about it. When Elsa's mother is kidnapped, Elsa must use scriptology to cross worlds and find the answers behind her disappearance.

In Destroy All Monsters, Solomon and Ash shared a traumatic experience when they were 12. As they cope with the aftermath, with Solomon retreating into an imaginary world, Ash realizes she must face the facts of their experience to save her friend.

Which magical read is next on your list?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library