Books for Fans of Raybearer

If you read Raybearer and absolutely loved it, then you're probably itching to read the second book! Redemptor is coming out on August 17th, but you’ll need something to read in the meantime. Check out one of these fantasy books featuring BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color) main characters to keep you busy until that hold comes in.

Are you a Tarisai fan? Then you’ll love Bree in Legendborn. Bree discovers a world of Arthurian legend after she sees a flying monster. She also discovers another world of Black spiritual power in herself after resisting a mage’s attempt to wipe her memory of the monster. It’s an intense page-turner you won’t be able to put down.

If the folklore of Raybearer was your thing, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin also uses West African folklore to build a world full of ancient magic and spirits. Malik tries to save his sister from one of these evil spirits by agreeing to kill Karina, princess of Ziran. But Karina is dabbling in magic, needing a man’s heart to resurrect her murdered mother, and might have different plans for Malik.

You might also enjoy the magical world built out of Argentinian folklore in Lobizona. Manu discovers the truth of the other half of her heritage after her mom is detained by ICE. Manu finds herself in a world of werewolves and brujas, with strange eyes that match her own. But even in this world, Manu is different, and still has to define herself instead of letting others do it for her.

Or maybe you’re looking for a story about another extremely powerful, kinda terrifying mother. Kingdom of Souls follows Arrah who tries and fails to harness magic. By doing that, she also fails to live up to her mother’s high expectations. Desperate, Arrah’s story gets way more complicated, dark and intense after she tries to trade years of her life for the chance at her own magic.

These are just a few of the many fantastic books featuring BIPOC main characters in beautifully crafted fantasy worlds. Which one do you think you’ll check out? Or do you have another book you’d recommend? Let us know in the comments below!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library