Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / The Summer Learning Challenge

Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge


All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Liftoff: Kids Books About Flight Liftoff: Kids Books About Flight

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Are you ready for the Air and Water Show? Take wing with these high-flying books for kids.
Are you ready for the Air and Water Show? Take wing with these high-flying books for kids.
If You Love / A Great Read

Dorothy Parker: 125 Years of Wit,… Dorothy Parker: 125 Years of Wit,…

By Joanna
Get to know this wide-ranging writer prized for her humor, intellect and glamour with Joanna's recommendations.
Get to know this wide-ranging writer prized for her humor, intellect and glamour with Joanna's recommendations.
If You Love / A Great Read

August 2018 Books We're Excited About August 2018 Books We're Excited About

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

When the Going Gets Tough: Grit for Kids When the Going Gets Tough: Grit for Kids

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Keep your chin up! These books inspire grit and perseverance.
Keep your chin up! These books inspire grit and perseverance.
If You Love / Music

Remembering Aretha Franklin Remembering Aretha Franklin

By Kelly
The beloved Queen of Soul has died. Kelly pays tribute to the iconic singer with these recommendations.
The beloved Queen of Soul has died. Kelly pays tribute to the iconic singer with these recommendations.
If You Love / History

1968: A Look Back 1968: A Look Back

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
These recent and classic books cover the highs and lows of a notoriously tumultuous year in American (and Chicago) history.
These recent and classic books cover the highs and lows of a notoriously tumultuous year in American (and Chicago) history.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

B Is for Back to School B Is for Back to School

By Evelyn
Whether this is your first year of school or you're an old pro, it's time to get ready for the big day.
Whether this is your first year of school or you're an old pro, it's time to get ready for the big day.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

OpenMike OpenMike

Aug 20th | 4:45pm - 7:30pm
Teens, speak, sing, spit and rap your heart out during this month's OpenMike!
Teens, speak, sing, spit and rap your heart out during this month's OpenMike!
If You Love / Teen Reads

If You Liked To All the Boys I've Loved… If You Liked To All the Boys I've Loved…

By Sarah
Check out these readalikes for Jenny Han's novel To All the Boys I've Loved Before, coming to Netflix this month.
Check out these readalikes for Jenny Han's novel To All the Boys I've Loved Before, coming to Netflix this month.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Walk in My Shoes: Empathy for Kids Walk in My Shoes: Empathy for Kids

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Open your heart to these insightful books.
Open your heart to these insightful books.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

Teen Self-Expression at Austin Branch Teen Self-Expression at Austin Branch

Check out some of the events going on at Austin Branch during the Teen Summer Challenge: Imagine Doing More.
Check out some of the events going on at Austin Branch during the Teen Summer Challenge: Imagine Doing More.
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police… COPA: Civilian Office of Police…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
If You Love / A Great Read

Literary Getaways for Summer Literary Getaways for Summer

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking to escape from your daily cares this summer? Check out these recent picks from the ALA Reading List Council.
Looking to escape from your daily cares this summer? Check out these recent picks from the ALA Reading List Council.
Connect With / Your Library

Literature & Libations: Regine Rousseau Literature & Libations: Regine Rousseau

Aug 22nd | 6:00pm - 9:00pm
American Writers Museum
Join the CPL Foundation Associate Board for a night of food and drinks featuring Chicago-based sommelier and poet Regine Rousseau.
Join the CPL Foundation Associate Board for a night of food and drinks featuring Chicago-based sommelier and poet Regine Rousseau.
If You Love / A Great Read

August 2018 Staff Picks August 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Back to Top