All CPL locations will be closed Monday, February 19.

Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / One Book, One Chicago

I'll Take You There by Greg Kot I'll Take You There by Greg Kot


Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Black Panther Readalikes for Teens Black Panther Readalikes for Teens

By Sarah
Sarah recommends Black Panther readalikes to check out before (or after) the movie's release.
Sarah recommends Black Panther readalikes to check out before (or after) the movie's release.
If You Love / A Great Read

February 2018 Books We're Excited About February 2018 Books We're Excited About

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
If You Love / The Holidays

Year of the Dog Recommended Reads Year of the Dog Recommended Reads

By Brandy
Celebrate the Year of the Dog with some bow wow-nderful reads.
Celebrate the Year of the Dog with some bow wow-nderful reads.
Explore / African American History

Reed: Black Chicago's First Century:… Reed: Black Chicago's First Century:…

Feb 20th | 6:00pm - 7:15pm
Local author Christopher Robert Reed provides the first comprehensive study of African Americans in a 19th century Northern city.
Local author Christopher Robert Reed provides the first comprehensive study of African Americans in a 19th century Northern city.
Explore / African American History

Collection Documents African American… Collection Documents African American…

By Cynthia
Our new Philip David Sang Digital Collection details slavery and resistance through historical materials from the Harsh Research Collection.
Our new Philip David Sang Digital Collection details slavery and resistance through historical materials from the Harsh Research Collection.
Explore / African American History

Celebrating the Legacy of Vivian G.… Celebrating the Legacy of Vivian G.…

Learn about newly processed archival collections in the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection in this exhibit at Woodson Regional Library.
Learn about newly processed archival collections in the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection in this exhibit at Woodson Regional Library.
Explore / African American History

Remembering Chicagoan Lerone Bennett Remembering Chicagoan Lerone Bennett

The Ebony editor and historian, who wrote influential books on African American history, has died at 89.
The Ebony editor and historian, who wrote influential books on African American history, has died at 89.
Explore / Technology

Is Your Kid a Tech Junkie? 5 Articles:… Is Your Kid a Tech Junkie? 5 Articles:…

By Shilo
Shilo recommends articles that explore how to help our kids, and ourselves, put down technology and reconnect with the real world.
Shilo recommends articles that explore how to help our kids, and ourselves, put down technology and reconnect with the real world.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

The Real Flintstones of Bedrock The Real Flintstones of Bedrock

By Jason Driver
Make some Stone Age friends with these books about early man.
Make some Stone Age friends with these books about early man.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

2018 ALA Youth Media Award Winners 2018 ALA Youth Media Award Winners

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Read the kids and teens books awarded this year's Newbery, Caldecott, Printz and other awards.
Read the kids and teens books awarded this year's Newbery, Caldecott, Printz and other awards.
If You Love / Movies

#TBT: Molly Ringwald Is 50 #TBT: Molly Ringwald Is 50

By Mary Jo
To some, the star is still an adorable redhead navigating the perils of high school, but do you know she's also a writer and musician?
To some, the star is still an adorable redhead navigating the perils of high school, but do you know she's also a writer and musician?
Explore / One Book, One Chicago

Quiz: African-American Musicians Quiz: African-American Musicians

By Jennifer
Do you know which Chicago hip-hop artist has the most Grammy nominations? Take our quiz on African-American musicians in Chicago.
Do you know which Chicago hip-hop artist has the most Grammy nominations? Take our quiz on African-American musicians in Chicago.
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police… COPA: Civilian Office of Police…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
If You Love / A Great Read

February 2018 Staff Picks February 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
If You Love / A Great Read

February 2018 Reading Challenge: Music February 2018 Reading Challenge: Music

By Gloriane
Adults, read a music-related book this month and be entered in a drawing for a CPL T-shirt or a One Book, One Chicago book, DVD or CD.
Adults, read a music-related book this month and be entered in a drawing for a CPL T-shirt or a One Book, One Chicago book, DVD or CD.

Which music-related book will you read?

Share Your Pick
Back to Top