Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / The Summer Learning Challenge

Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge


All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Kids Staff Picks (July 2018) Kids Staff Picks (July 2018)

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
Explore / Chicago's History

50 Years of Special Olympics 50 Years of Special Olympics

By Johanna
Did you know the Special Olympics began in Chicago? Take a look back at games past with photos from CPL's Special Collections.
Did you know the Special Olympics began in Chicago? Take a look back at games past with photos from CPL's Special Collections.
If You Love / Chicago

Explore Pilsen: Photos, Fiction, Film Explore Pilsen: Photos, Fiction, Film

By Laura
Get to know Pilsen, named one of the 12 coolest neighborhoods in the world, with these titles about or set in the neighborhood.
Get to know Pilsen, named one of the 12 coolest neighborhoods in the world, with these titles about or set in the neighborhood.
Explore / What's Making Headlines

People: Magazine of the Month People: Magazine of the Month

Looking for some summer reading? Read the latest issue of People online via Flipster.
Looking for some summer reading? Read the latest issue of People online via Flipster.
Explore / Technology

Tomorrow's Technology Today 2018… Tomorrow's Technology Today 2018…

recommended by ChiPubLib_Business
Want to learn more about emerging technologies and innovation? Check out these books.
Want to learn more about emerging technologies and innovation? Check out these books.
If You Love / Music

Pitchfork Music Festival 2018 Pitchfork Music Festival 2018

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Here's a sampling of the artists performing at this year's Pitchfork Music Festival.
Here's a sampling of the artists performing at this year's Pitchfork Music Festival.
Make / A Masterpiece

Paintings by JeongIm Herbert at HWLC Paintings by JeongIm Herbert at HWLC

Around Us: Paintings by JeongIm Herbert is on display through August 18 at Harold Washington Library Center.
Around Us: Paintings by JeongIm Herbert is on display through August 18 at Harold Washington Library Center.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Stories about Differently Abled Teens Stories about Differently Abled Teens

recommended by ChiPubLib_Teens
Celebrate Disability Awareness Month by reading one of these teen novels selected by CPL's Teen Services librarians.
Celebrate Disability Awareness Month by reading one of these teen novels selected by CPL's Teen Services librarians.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

Teen Voices: Artist Antonio K. Teen Voices: Artist Antonio K.

Check out Antonio's outdoor photographs, featured in the Teen Summer Challenge, Imagine Doing More!
Check out Antonio's outdoor photographs, featured in the Teen Summer Challenge, Imagine Doing More!
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police… COPA: Civilian Office of Police…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
Connect With / Your Library

Power a More Curious Chicago Power a More Curious Chicago

Did you know that $25 funds four kids in a full summer of learning and discovery through CPL’s Summer Learning Challenge?
Did you know that $25 funds four kids in a full summer of learning and discovery through CPL’s Summer Learning Challenge?
If You Love / A Great Read

July 2018 Staff Picks July 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Explore / World History

Honoring Nelson Mandela's Legacy Honoring Nelson Mandela's Legacy

The South African leader would have been 100 this month. Learn more about the revolutionary Mandela with these titles.
The South African leader would have been 100 this month. Learn more about the revolutionary Mandela with these titles.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Brontë Readalikes for Teens Brontë Readalikes for Teens

By Amy
To celebrate the bicentennial of Emily Brontë's birth, check out these teen fiction titles.
To celebrate the bicentennial of Emily Brontë's birth, check out these teen fiction titles.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

Teens, Apply for the CTLF Advisory… Teens, Apply for the CTLF Advisory…

Teens, do you love all things literature? The ChiTeen Lit Fest is looking to recruit new teens for the Teen Advisory Council. Apply now!
Teens, do you love all things literature? The ChiTeen Lit Fest is looking to recruit new teens for the Teen Advisory Council. Apply now!
Back to Top