Harold Washington Library Center will close at 5 p.m. Wednesday, August 22 for a planned power outage and mechanical repairs. 

Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / The Summer Learning Challenge

Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge Rahm’s Readers Summer Learning Challenge


All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
All learning counts with Rahm's Readers Summer Learning Challenge! Visit any CPL location to read, discover and create.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Kids Staff Picks (August 2018) Kids Staff Picks (August 2018)

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
If You Love / A Great Read

Caught Reading: Dog Park, August 2018 Caught Reading: Dog Park, August 2018

By Liv
It's the dog days of summer, and book lovers are beating the heat at the dog park. Here's what we caught you reading, Chicago.
It's the dog days of summer, and book lovers are beating the heat at the dog park. Here's what we caught you reading, Chicago.
Explore / Chicago's History

1968 Democratic Convention: 50th… 1968 Democratic Convention: 50th…

Aug 23rd | 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Alderman Ed Burke, Dick Simpson, Bernie Sieracki and Taylor Pensoneau share their memories of the 1968 Democratic National Convention.
Alderman Ed Burke, Dick Simpson, Bernie Sieracki and Taylor Pensoneau share their memories of the 1968 Democratic National Convention.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

By Amy
Chicago stars in these teen fiction titles set in the Windy City.
Chicago stars in these teen fiction titles set in the Windy City.
If You Love / A Great Read

Dorothy Parker: 125 Years of Wit,… Dorothy Parker: 125 Years of Wit,…

By Joanna
Get to know this wide-ranging writer prized for her humor, intellect and glamour with Joanna's recommendations.
Get to know this wide-ranging writer prized for her humor, intellect and glamour with Joanna's recommendations.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

Teen Voices: Kaila C., "Upcycler" Teen Voices: Kaila C., "Upcycler"

Check out how Kaila C. upcycles paper materials to make new projects at the Chinatown Branch's YOUmedia.
Check out how Kaila C. upcycles paper materials to make new projects at the Chinatown Branch's YOUmedia.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

First Day of School First Day of School

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Starting school can be a big transition, but these books will get you ready!
Starting school can be a big transition, but these books will get you ready!
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Walk in My Shoes: Empathy for Kids Walk in My Shoes: Empathy for Kids

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Open your heart to these insightful books.
Open your heart to these insightful books.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

B Is for Back to School B Is for Back to School

By Evelyn
Whether this is your first year of school or you're an old pro, it's time to get ready for the big day.
Whether this is your first year of school or you're an old pro, it's time to get ready for the big day.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

When the Going Gets Tough: Grit for Kids When the Going Gets Tough: Grit for Kids

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Keep your chin up! These books inspire grit and perseverance.
Keep your chin up! These books inspire grit and perseverance.
If You Love / Teen Reads

If You Liked To All the Boys I've Loved… If You Liked To All the Boys I've Loved…

By Sarah
In the need for more things Lara Jean? Check out these readalikes for Jenny Han's novel To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
In the need for more things Lara Jean? Check out these readalikes for Jenny Han's novel To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
If You Love / Music

Remembering Aretha Franklin Remembering Aretha Franklin

By Kelly
The beloved Queen of Soul has died. Kelly pays tribute to the iconic singer with these recommendations.
The beloved Queen of Soul has died. Kelly pays tribute to the iconic singer with these recommendations.
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police… COPA: Civilian Office of Police…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
If You Love / A Great Read

August 2018 Staff Picks August 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Connect With / Your Library

Literature & Libations: Regine Rousseau Literature & Libations: Regine Rousseau

Aug 22nd | 6:00pm - 9:00pm
American Writers Museum
Join the CPL Foundation Associate Board for a night of food and drinks featuring Chicago-based sommelier and poet Regine Rousseau.
Join the CPL Foundation Associate Board for a night of food and drinks featuring Chicago-based sommelier and poet Regine Rousseau.
Back to Top