Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / One Book, One Chicago

I'll Take You There by Greg Kot I'll Take You There by Greg Kot


Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
Explore / Chicago's History

No Blue Memories: Life of Gwendolyn Broo… No Blue Memories: Life of Gwendolyn Broo…

Nov 17th - Nov 19th
Harold Washington Library Center
This unique staged retelling of poet Gwendolyn Brooks' life uses puppetry to showcase one of Chicago's most beloved literary figures.
This unique staged retelling of poet Gwendolyn Brooks' life uses puppetry to showcase one of Chicago's most beloved literary figures.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

By MsCaroline
Get ready for the Wonder movie with these stories of kids dealing with difference.
Get ready for the Wonder movie with these stories of kids dealing with difference.
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2017 Books We're Excited About November 2017 Books We're Excited About

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
If You Love / Movies

Happy 75th Birthday, Martin Scorsese! Happy 75th Birthday, Martin Scorsese!

By Leslie
Leslie recommends five of the filmmaker's best movies, plus a book about how he works.
Leslie recommends five of the filmmaker's best movies, plus a book about how he works.

What’s your favorite Martin Scorsese movie?

Share Your Favorite
If You Love / Teen Reads

Not-So-Happy Family Titles for Teens Not-So-Happy Family Titles for Teens

By Sarah
If seeing your relatives during the holidays bums you out, bring one of these titles about dysfunctional families to read under the table.
If seeing your relatives during the holidays bums you out, bring one of these titles about dysfunctional families to read under the table.
If You Love / Movies

#TBT: Happy 75th, Casablanca #TBT: Happy 75th, Casablanca

By Kelly
Love Casablanca? Kelly recommends other titles for fans of one of the most beloved films of all time.
Love Casablanca? Kelly recommends other titles for fans of one of the most beloved films of all time.
If You Love / Movies

Beverly Gray: Seduced by Mrs. Robinson Beverly Gray: Seduced by Mrs. Robinson

Nov 20th | 6:00pm - 7:30pm
The author offers a smart close reading of The Graduate and never-before-revealed details from behind the scenes of the film's production.
The author offers a smart close reading of The Graduate and never-before-revealed details from behind the scenes of the film's production.
If You Love / A Great Read

National Book Award Winners 2017 National Book Award Winners 2017

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Congratulations to this year's winners of the National Book Awards.
Congratulations to this year's winners of the National Book Awards.
If You Love / Teen Reads

New Teen Novels Featuring Girls of Color New Teen Novels Featuring Girls of Color

By Alenka
Wondering what to read next? Why not start with one of these five fabulous books featuring girls of color?
Wondering what to read next? Why not start with one of these five fabulous books featuring girls of color?
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2017 Staff Picks November 2017 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Explore / Native American Heritage

Teen Reads: Native American Heritage Teen Reads: Native American Heritage

recommended by ChiPubLib_Teens
Celebrate the history and culture of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for teens.
Celebrate the history and culture of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for teens.
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police Accounta… COPA: Civilian Office of Police Accounta…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
Connect With / Your Community

One City. One Dream. One Chicago. One City. One Dream. One Chicago.

We're a proud partner in One Chicago, which facilitates access to resources for Chicagoans, including immigrant and refugee communities.
We're a proud partner in One Chicago, which facilitates access to resources for Chicagoans, including immigrant and refugee communities.
Connect With / Your Library

Join CPL Foundation Junior Board Society Join CPL Foundation Junior Board Society

Join the smart in-crowd and support critical Chicago Public Library programming.
Join the smart in-crowd and support critical Chicago Public Library programming.
Make / A Delicious Meal

Thanksgiving Cookbooks Thanksgiving Cookbooks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Back to Top