Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / One Book, One Chicago

OBOC: Do Androids Dream of Electric… OBOC: Do Androids Dream of Electric…


What if all of Chicago read the same book? Imagine the Future with us as we read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? in 2018-2019.
What if all of Chicago read the same book? Imagine the Future with us as we read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? in 2018-2019.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2018 Books We're Excited About November 2018 Books We're Excited About

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
If You Love / Music

Gustavo Leone, Elbio Barilari & Friends Gustavo Leone, Elbio Barilari & Friends

Nov 18th | 2:00pm - 3:15pm
Hear instantaneous and spontaneous music at this 2018 Chicago Latino Music Festival event.
Hear instantaneous and spontaneous music at this 2018 Chicago Latino Music Festival event.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Native American Heritage Books for Teens Native American Heritage Books for Teens

recommended by ChiPubLib_Teens
Celebrate the history and culture of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for teens.
Celebrate the history and culture of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for teens.
Connect With / Your Library

Chicago Public Library Online Store Chicago Public Library Online Store

A portion of every sale goes to the Chicago Public Library Foundation.
A portion of every sale goes to the Chicago Public Library Foundation.
Explore / Pride

Trans Day of Remembrance Discussion Trans Day of Remembrance Discussion

Nov 19th | 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Activist Karari Olvera speaks about violence against trans women, especially of color, as well as how to stand up against bullying.
Activist Karari Olvera speaks about violence against trans women, especially of color, as well as how to stand up against bullying.
If You Love / Audiobooks

Family Sagas on Audiobook Family Sagas on Audiobook

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Get ready for the holidays with these audiobooks featuring family sagas.
Get ready for the holidays with these audiobooks featuring family sagas.
Connect With / Your Community

Celebrate Illinois' Birthday! Celebrate Illinois' Birthday!

By Jason Driver
Kids, learn about your home state to prepare for our bicentennial.
Kids, learn about your home state to prepare for our bicentennial.
If You Love / A Great Read

2018 National Book Award Winners 2018 National Book Award Winners

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out the winners of these prestigious awards for American literature.
Check out the winners of these prestigious awards for American literature.
Explore / What's Making Headlines

5 Articles: Rethinking Plastic 5 Articles: Rethinking Plastic

By Stephen
Stephen recommends articles on the growing trend of reusable and biodegradable alternatives to plastic.
Stephen recommends articles on the growing trend of reusable and biodegradable alternatives to plastic.
Make / A Masterpiece

I SPI Exhibit at Harold Washington… I SPI Exhibit at Harold Washington…

I SPI: Source, Process, Image, an exhibit of woodblock relief prints by Benjamin F Calvert III, is on display until January 13.
I SPI: Source, Process, Image, an exhibit of woodblock relief prints by Benjamin F Calvert III, is on display until January 13.
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2018 Staff Picks November 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for previous lists of recommendations.
Make / A Delicious Meal

Thanksgiving Cookbooks Thanksgiving Cookbooks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Picture Book Month: Read Our Favorites Picture Book Month: Read Our Favorites

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
CPL librarians recommend a picture book a day to keep you reading, growing and learning.
CPL librarians recommend a picture book a day to keep you reading, growing and learning.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Sabrina: Magical Readalikes for Teens Sabrina: Magical Readalikes for Teens

By Rae
Rae recommends creepy and magical teen titles for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix.
Rae recommends creepy and magical teen titles for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix.
Back to Top