All CPL locations will be closed Thursday, November 23.

Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / One Book, One Chicago

I'll Take You There by Greg Kot I'll Take You There by Greg Kot


Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
Check out our One Book, One Chicago page and explore Music: The Beat of Our City with us through events, books, performances and more.
If You Love / Movies

Beverly Gray: Seduced by Mrs. Robinson Beverly Gray: Seduced by Mrs. Robinson

Nov 20th | 6:00pm - 7:30pm
The author offers a smart close reading of The Graduate and never-before-revealed details from behind the scenes of the film's production.
The author offers a smart close reading of The Graduate and never-before-revealed details from behind the scenes of the film's production.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Kids Staff Picks (November 2017) Kids Staff Picks (November 2017)

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
Kids and parents, check out our latest picks for good reading.
Connect With / Chicago Teens

Teen Voices: Thurgood Marshall Teen Voices: Thurgood Marshall

With help from the Chicago Architecture Foundation, teens design ads emphasizing the past, present and future of their community.
With help from the Chicago Architecture Foundation, teens design ads emphasizing the past, present and future of their community.
If You Love / A Great Read

Caught Reading: O'Hare to Heathrow Caught Reading: O'Hare to Heathrow

By Kate
What books are keeping Chicago company on a transatlantic flight? Librarian Kate reports back from her flight to London.
What books are keeping Chicago company on a transatlantic flight? Librarian Kate reports back from her flight to London.
Explore / Native American Heritage

Native American Heritage Native American Heritage

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
We recommend some recent highlights as well as classic books in observance of Native American Heritage Month.
We recommend some recent highlights as well as classic books in observance of Native American Heritage Month.
Explore / What's Making Headlines

Men's Journal: Magazine of the Month Men's Journal: Magazine of the Month

Read up on pop culture, travel and fitness in the November issue of Men's Journal, available on RBdigital Magazines.
Read up on pop culture, travel and fitness in the November issue of Men's Journal, available on RBdigital Magazines.
If You Love / Teen Reads

New Teen Novels Featuring Girls of Color New Teen Novels Featuring Girls of Color

By Alenka
Wondering what to read next? Why not start with one of these five fabulous books featuring girls of color?
Wondering what to read next? Why not start with one of these five fabulous books featuring girls of color?
Make / A Delicious Meal

Thanksgiving Cookbooks Thanksgiving Cookbooks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Want to host the perfect Thanksgiving? We have cookbooks to help, whether you're going traditional, vegan or somewhere in between.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

By MsCaroline
Get ready for the Wonder movie with these stories of kids dealing with difference.
Get ready for the Wonder movie with these stories of kids dealing with difference.
If You Love / Movies

#TBT: Happy 75th, Casablanca #TBT: Happy 75th, Casablanca

By Kelly
Love Casablanca? Kelly recommends other titles for fans of one of the most beloved films of all time.
Love Casablanca? Kelly recommends other titles for fans of one of the most beloved films of all time.
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2017 Staff Picks November 2017 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for a link to previous lists of recommendations.
If You Love / Movies

Happy 75th Birthday, Martin Scorsese! Happy 75th Birthday, Martin Scorsese!

By Leslie
Leslie recommends five of the filmmaker's best movies, plus a book about how he works.
Leslie recommends five of the filmmaker's best movies, plus a book about how he works.

What’s your favorite Martin Scorsese movie?

Share Your Favorite
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police Accounta… COPA: Civilian Office of Police Accounta…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
Connect With / Your Community

One City. One Dream. One Chicago. One City. One Dream. One Chicago.

We're a proud partner in One Chicago, which facilitates access to resources for Chicagoans, including immigrant and refugee communities.
We're a proud partner in One Chicago, which facilitates access to resources for Chicagoans, including immigrant and refugee communities.
Connect With / Your Library

Join CPL Foundation Junior Board Society Join CPL Foundation Junior Board Society

Join the smart in-crowd and support critical Chicago Public Library programming.
Join the smart in-crowd and support critical Chicago Public Library programming.
Back to Top