All CPL locations will be closed Monday, May 27.

Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Posts

The royal who captivated the world when she became queen in 1837 lives on through books and movies.
by Mary Jo
Browse lists of some of the hottest upcoming titles.
Patrice highlights the amazing work of this legendary artist.
by Patrice
25 must-read books for kids in honor of Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month
Check out our latest staff favorites for teen reading.
This unique memorial honoring Illinois soldiers who have been killed in the line of duty since September 11, 2001, runs through May 28.
With TV’s Game of Thrones finished, are you looking for something new? Check out these novels that take the genre in new directions.
Elizabeth Acevedo is back with another powerhouse novel in With the Fire on High. Here are some other books you might like.
by Alex
Kelly recommends some unusual pet stories, including articles that explore newly popular pet vermin and otters.
by Kelly
An endorsement from Gates often sends books onto bestseller lists. Here are the latest recommendations from his blog.
Teens, help us celebrate by submitting your design to the YOUmedia 10 Year Anniversary Poster Contest.
Fans of Groundhog Day and Russian Doll, check out these novels that also feature characters living the same time period over and over.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for previous lists of recommendations.
Celebrate Sherlock Holmes Day by reading some books the beloved fictional detective might have enjoyed.
by Kelly
Use your library card and your mobile device to read; stream movies, TV and music; learn a new language or get homework help.
Self-portraits by students at Southside Occupational High School are on display through October 6 at Harold Washington Library Center.
Back to Top