Chicago Public Library Homepage

Featured Content

Explore / One Book, One Chicago

OBOC: Do Androids Dream of Electric… OBOC: Do Androids Dream of Electric…


What if all of Chicago read the same book? Imagine the Future with us as we read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? in 2018-2019.
What if all of Chicago read the same book? Imagine the Future with us as we read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? in 2018-2019.
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2018 Books We're Excited About November 2018 Books We're Excited About

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Looking for the inside scoop? Based on advance reviews and publicity, here are the books we're most excited to read this month.
Connect With / Your Library

Chicago Public Library Online Store Chicago Public Library Online Store

A portion of every sale goes to the Chicago Public Library Foundation.
A portion of every sale goes to the Chicago Public Library Foundation.
If You Love / Biography & Memoir

Zachary Leader: The Life of Saul Bellow Zachary Leader: The Life of Saul Bellow

Nov 15th | 6:00pm - 7:30pm
The author discusses the second volume of his Saul Bellow biography, The Life of Saul Bellow: Love and Strife, 1965-2005.
The author discusses the second volume of his Saul Bellow biography, The Life of Saul Bellow: Love and Strife, 1965-2005.
Connect With / Your Kids

A Village of Stories A Village of Stories

Nov 17th | 11:00am - 3:00pm
This joyful day of storytelling and make-believe play celebrates kids' imagination and creativity.
This joyful day of storytelling and make-believe play celebrates kids' imagination and creativity.
Explore / What's Making Headlines

5 Articles: Rethinking Plastic 5 Articles: Rethinking Plastic

By Stephen
Stephen recommends articles on the growing trend of reusable and biodegradable alternatives to plastic.
Stephen recommends articles on the growing trend of reusable and biodegradable alternatives to plastic.
If You Love / Comics and Graphic Novels

Remembering Stan Lee Remembering Stan Lee

The comic book writer created the Marvel Universe, filling it with Spider-Man, Iron Man, Black Panther and other groundbreaking superheroes.
The comic book writer created the Marvel Universe, filling it with Spider-Man, Iron Man, Black Panther and other groundbreaking superheroes.
If You Love / Audiobooks

Family Sagas on Audiobook Family Sagas on Audiobook

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Get ready for the holidays with these audiobooks featuring family sagas.
Get ready for the holidays with these audiobooks featuring family sagas.
If You Love / Teen Reads

Sabrina: Magical Readalikes for Teens Sabrina: Magical Readalikes for Teens

By Rae
Rae recommends creepy and magical teen titles for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix.
Rae recommends creepy and magical teen titles for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Native American Heritage Reads for Kids Native American Heritage Reads for Kids

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
Celebrate the history and diverse cultures of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for kids.
Celebrate the history and diverse cultures of Native American and indigenous peoples in November with these titles for kids.
If You Love / Movies

Thanksgiving Movies Thanksgiving Movies

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Get in the Thanksgiving mood with these movies set around Turkey Day.
Get in the Thanksgiving mood with these movies set around Turkey Day.
Connect With / Your Community

Celebrate Illinois' Birthday! Celebrate Illinois' Birthday!

By Jason Driver
Kids, learn about your home state to prepare for our bicentennial.
Kids, learn about your home state to prepare for our bicentennial.
If You Love / A Great Read

November 2018 Staff Picks November 2018 Staff Picks

recommended by ChiPubLib_Adults
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for previous lists of recommendations.
Check out this month's recommendations from Chicago Public Library. Visit our Books page for previous lists of recommendations.
Explore / Great Reads for Kids

Picture Book Month: Read Our Favorites Picture Book Month: Read Our Favorites

recommended by ChiPubLib_Kids
CPL librarians recommend a picture book a day to keep you reading, growing and learning.
CPL librarians recommend a picture book a day to keep you reading, growing and learning.
Connect With / Your Community

COPA: Civilian Office of Police… COPA: Civilian Office of Police…

COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
COPA, a new, independent police oversight agency, is the next step in Chicago's public safety reform efforts.
Make / A Delicious Meal

Vegan Cooking Vegan Cooking

November is Vegan Month. Find plant-based cookbooks and nutrition guides.
November is Vegan Month. Find plant-based cookbooks and nutrition guides.
Back to Top