For Fans of Ferrante: My Brilliant Friend Readalikes

I just finished listening to the Neapolitan Novels by Elena Ferrante. I admit, I’m a little late to the party. This pseudonymous Italian author took America by storm when her first book in the series, My Brilliant Friend, was translated into English in 2012. This month, the book became an HBO show. Do you have "Ferrante Fever?" You might enjoy these readalikes:

Sister of My Heart: Much like Lenu and Lila, Anju and Sudha are different yet inexplicably drawn to each other since childhood. They share everything, even secrets… or do they?

The Wednesday Sisters: A close-knit friendship between several young women is told through a series of historical events in 1960s and 1970s California.

The Flamethrowers: In 1975, a young artist from New York travels to Italy and experiences the radical movement and factory strikes mentioned in Ferrante’s books.

History: Said to have been one of Ferrante’s biggest inspirations, this novel mirrors the Neapolitan Novels in terms of Italian history, class struggles and page count (It’s huge!).

Have you read anything else that reminds you of Ferrante’s books?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library