If You Liked Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Spring always puts me in the mood to read something light, sweet, and funny. The sun is out, the gray skies are finally cleared away, and I don't want to ruin the vibe with anything other than a happily ever after. A perfect book for this time of year is Get A Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert. Chloe, the chronically ill, delightfully curvy web designer, feels like she's not living her life to the fullest. So, she creates her "Get a Life" list, a list of experiences that will force her out of her comfort zone. Making friends with Red, her apartment building's gruff and gorgeous handyman, would be a perfect way to check off "Ride a Motorcycle" and maybe, if she's lucky, "Do Something Bad." It's a shame he's despised her from their very first meeting. Their journey from hate to love is adorable and hilarious and will get your spring started on the exact right note.

If you love the first book as much as I do, you'll definitely want to check out the rest of the series, starring Chloe's sisters, Take A Hint, Dani Brown, and Act your Age, Eve Brown. Here are a few other books that will fill the hole this trilogy will inevitably leave in your reading life. 

If you're a fan of the Great British Baking Show, Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake is your perfect next read. Bisexual, single mother Rosaline has achieved her dream of competing on Bake Expectations. She just wishes she would stop getting distracted by not one, but two other contestants. 

Probably my favorite second-chance romance is Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes. Last year, Evvie's husband died, and ever since she's been forced into a role she never wanted: tragic widow. What no one in town knows is she was planning to leave him the night of the accident, and he wasn't exactly the angel everyone imagines. Just when it feels like her life is never going to change, Dean, a former MLB pitcher with secrets of his own, rents out her guest house. Maybe what they both need is someone who doesn't see all of their baggage and will give them a chance to start fresh. 

It turns out I'm a total sucker for romance novels set on reality competition shows. Recipe for Persuasion by (Chicagoland author) Sonali Dev manages to fill that very specific niche, and also be an excellent retelling of Persuasion by Jane Austen. Ashne Raje desperately needs to rescue her restaurant from bankruptcy, even if it means agreeing to be a contestant on Cooking with the Stars. But maybe she wouldn't have agreed if she'd known that her partner would be the first man to break her heart, FIFA legend Rico Silva.

Do any other romance novels get you in that bright spring mood?

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library