Doctor Who’s New Adventures, Part Two

Along with the new novels featuring more of the current Doctor’s adventures, there are also new books featuring earlier versions of him set during the “classic” Doctor Who period.

The Fourth Doctor

Fans of the Doctor as played by Tom Baker should check out a novel called Shada. It’s written by Gareth Roberts and based on an unaired script written by the great Douglas Adams. It has a perfect mix of humor and sci-fi adventure that gets the feel for the show and the characters just right. I especially loved the part on page 54 where the Doctor says, “This is going to be like trying to find a book about needles in a room full of books about haystacks.”

Doctor Who

The Second Doctor

Fans of the Doctor as played by Patrick Troughton will enjoy The Wheel of Ice by Stephen Baxter. The author does a good job of creating a story that’s fun and features some familiar characters that we haven’t seen in a while.

Doctor Who

The Wheel of Ice is available in other formats.

Important If You Are New to Who

If you aren’t familiar with the character, you should know that there have been many versions of the Doctor. Over the course of his (very) long life, the Doctor has regenerated his body many times, giving him an entirely new appearance and a slightly different personality each time. This is why each incarnation of the Doctor is identified by a number.

My next post will cover nonfiction Doctor Who books to check out.