Books For Fans of The Office

This March marks sixteen years since the U.S. premier of the critically acclaimed sitcom, The Office. If you're anything like this super fan, you've been been watching the show ever since. Although I don't think I will ever get tired of re-watching the shenanigans of the Dunder Mifflin crew, I've been told that sometimes it's good to try new things. Here are a few new suggestions of books that can help to fill that Michael Scott-shaped hole in your heart. 

The Office by Andy Greene has what every true Office fan has wanted since the show's finale: a detailed oral history of the show as told by the creators, writers and performers. Rolling Stone writer Andy Greene takes fans behind the scenes with untold stories and exhaustive research in this  surprising and nostalgic read.

If you are a fan of The Office and haven't read Mindy Kaling's Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and Other Concerns), are you really a fan? You may know Kaling from her role as Kelly Kapoor on the show, but she also worked as co-executive producer and writer of 22 episodes. The wit and hilarity she brought to the show carries over to her memoir. She discusses everything, including her experience writing for The Office. And if you end up enjoying her first book, why not try the second: Why Not Me? 

Fans of the character Dwight Schrute should absolutely check out The Bassoon King by Rainn Wilson. Although Wilson is not the character he portrayed on TV, his memoir has "Dwight vibes" and offers fans a chance to get to know the performer behind one of TV's most interesting characters. 

One More Thing is a collection of fictional stories by B.J. Novak, another alumnus of The Office writers room. Playfully funny, sharp-witted, and completely unique, Novak never ceases to keep reader entertained with his one-of-a-kind stories. 

Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris was not written by or affiliated with anyone from The Office, but it is about people who work in one. Full of office gossip, secret romances, and elaborate pranks, this book has everything you love about the series and more.

Cubed by Nikil Saval offers readers a comprehensive social and cultural history of the white-collar workplace. If you enjoyed the satirical take of the American office space shown on TV, Saval's detailed history on how that all came to be will fascinate you. 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Chicago Public Library