All CPL locations will be closed Monday, May 29.

close

Harold Washington Library Center: Blogs

RSS feed, opens a new window

Top Picks: The Words of John F. Kennedy

Avid sportsman, visionary leader, newspaper reporter, war hero, statesman, civil rights activist, Peace Corps founder—and author. So many books have been written about John F. Kennedy, examining his short, yet remarkable life from a myriad of viewpoints, and no doubt hundreds more will follow. Born May 29, 1917, John F. Kennedy, the 35th president of […]

Read More

Love, Marriage, Parenthood, Death

Shakespeare says that a sad tale's best for winter, but I say spring brings tales of hope and growth. These four books are about loss, yes, but also about how we pick ourselves up and dust ourselves off. If you're looking for a book that makes you both laugh and cry, try one of these. Abby […]

Read More

Three Merry Mysteries

Like mysteries with comic banter, likeable characters, and a strong sense of place? We've got three new entries in long-running series for you. Strange Tide by Christopher Fowler is meant as a stand-alone inside the Bryant & May series.  Detective Bryant is suffering from what appears to be senile dementia, leaving straight man May and the rest […]

Read More

Enter the Detecting Lady: Victorian Mysteries

When I went looking for readalikes for Kaite Welsh's The Wages of Sin, I was pleasantly surprised by the number of books I discovered. It seems that the past few years have seen the starts of several mystery series set in the Victorian era and featuring intrepid heroines. Here then, are some of them:BibWidget The Wages […]

Read More

#TBT: Star Wars Premieres in May 1977

Darth Vader

The year was 1977. Jimmy Carter was president, the first Apple II computers were on the market, disco was at its peak, and punk music from the Ramones, Sex Pistols and Elvis Costello was challenging conventional norms. Then, a pop culture phenomenon was born: Star Wars: Episode IV, A New Hope was released on May 25. For this Throwback Thursday, […]

Read More
See More Blog Posts
Back to Top