Granta’s Best of Young American Novelists

Granta Best Young American Novelists 3 cover

Every 10 years, British literary magazine Granta selects their picks for the best American novelists of their generation. (Access their 1996 picks and 2007 picks on the magazine's website.) It's quite an honor and a career boost for authors to be selected, and we're excited to further explore their latest picks, featured in the new […]

Read More

Prama: Teen Books about Prom

Young man in tuxedo places corset on the arm of a young woman in a dress

Prama (noun): drama that ensues before, during or after a high school prom. I first heard the word prama early in my senior year of high school (yes, a long time ago). By winter break I had fully learned its meaning. The buildup to prom can be filled with anxiety, awkwardness and, of course, tons of […]

Read More

Quiz: How Well Do You Know Animal, Vegetable, Miracle?

Throughout the 2016-2017 season of One Book, One Chicago, we've been exploring Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. As the season draws to a close with the season finale event featuring Barbara Kingsolver on May 18 at Harold Washington Library Center, test your knowledge of this season's book with our quiz! Test your expertise with our quiz […]

Read More

Mom, Do I Have To? Books for Kids

Mother Daughter Mother Son book covers

How many times have you said "Mom, do I have to?" or even "Mom, do YOU have to?" These books for middle-grade readers show how kids from different types of families deal when problems come up with Mom. The Year Mom Won the Pennant: This fast-paced and funny story is not just for baseball fans. […]

Read More

Enter the Detecting Lady: Victorian Mysteries

When I went looking for readalikes for Kaite Welsh's The Wages of Sin, I was pleasantly surprised by the number of books I discovered. It seems that the past few years have seen the starts of several mystery series set in the Victorian era and featuring intrepid heroines. Here then, are some of them: The Wages […]

Read More

Get Ready for Farmers Market Season

apples at farmers market

Chicago's City Farmers Market season starts in May! If you're ready to embrace Barbara Kingsolver's ethics of eating locally, as demonstrated in the 2016-2017 One Book, One Chicago book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, here are some ways to get started. First, check the schedule of farmers markets in Chicago! There are many markets, and there's probably […]

Read More

#TBT: Star Wars Premieres in May 1977

Darth Vader

The year was 1977. Jimmy Carter was president, the first Apple II computers were on the market, disco was at its peak, and punk music from the Ramones, Sex Pistols and Elvis Costello was challenging conventional norms. Then, a pop culture phenomenon was born: Star Wars: Episode IV, A New Hope was released on May 25. For this Throwback Thursday, […]

Read More

Meet Chicago Children’s Author Andrea Beaty

Attack of the Fluffy Bunnies book cover

This week is Children's Book Week, but at CPL we celebrate the joy of books every day. We'll be featuring a different Chicago children's author each month to spread that joy. I'd like to introduce to you one of my favorite Chicago authors, Andrea Beaty. When I think about Andrea Beaty's books, the words "rollicking," "hilarious" […]

Read More

Chicago’s Long Love Affair with Bikes

As the weather finally warms up, many Chicagoans are tuning up their bikes for the season. While there's much talk of biking in the Windy City in recent years, Chicago has always been a biking city. The cycling craze of the late 1800s saw a rapid evolution from heavy bikes that were difficult to ride, […]

Read More