10 Years of Hunger Games: More Books Featuring Strong Young Women

In honor of The Hunger Games' 10th anniversary in September, here are other books featuring young women, like Katniss, fed up with corrupt systems who discover what they are capable of when they decide to take a stand. Murder, corruption and manipulation are not unique to the dystopian setting as Greer MacDonald finds out while…
View More about 10 Years of Hunger Games: More Books Featuring Strong Young Women

Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Like all native Chicagoans, I proudly claim the city as my hometown. And when I say "the city" I mean within the city limits, not the suburbs. We're very specific about that. These teen fiction books chronicle daily life in Sweet Home Chicago. One local author who perfectly captures the vibe of the Northwest Side…
View More about Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Rapture Ready (But First, Prom)

Being a teenager can really stink sometimes. Religion can make it easier, or it can make it even more of a chore. You're at that age where you question everything, like the characters in these books, who come from conservative backgrounds and aren't given much freedom to explore spirituality (or anything else) on their own…
View More about Rapture Ready (But First, Prom)

Brontë Readalikes for Teens

To celebrate the bicentennial of Emily Brontë's birth, check out these teen fiction titles based on the classic novels and the lives of the Brontë sisters. Emily and Charlotte investigate the mysterious death of a local madwoman that ends up inspiring their stories in Always Emily. In My Plain Jane, Charlotte Brontë convinces her school friend…
View More about Brontë Readalikes for Teens

Teen Novels by Debut Authors

Always looking for the newest teen fiction? Check out these four debut authors talking about their books at the Teen Debut Author Panel at Sulzer Regional Library on Saturday, July 14. Their novels represent a variety of genres including realistic fiction, fantasy and fairy tale retellings. In Megan Bannen's The Bird and the Blade, a Chinese…
View More about Teen Novels by Debut Authors
1 - 10 of 209