Read Like a Wicked Queen!

Everyone knows your standard princess tales, but every wicked queen has her own story to tell. Evil or misunderstood? What motivations spur an evil queen to action? Check out these titles for stories of queens who may or may not be evil, depending on how you look at it. Heartless starts at the beginning, before…
View More about Read Like a Wicked Queen!

Damsel Readalikes for Teens

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, the prince was ready to become the king. But first, he had to battle a dragon, rescue the damsel, bring her back to his castle and marry her. That was how it had always been and how it would always be. No one ever knew where the…
View More about Damsel Readalikes for Teens

10 Years of Hunger Games: More Books Featuring Strong Young Women

In honor of The Hunger Games' 10th anniversary in September, here are other books featuring young women, like Katniss, fed up with corrupt systems who discover what they are capable of when they decide to take a stand. Murder, corruption and manipulation are not unique to the dystopian setting as Greer MacDonald finds out while…
View More about 10 Years of Hunger Games: More Books Featuring Strong Young Women

Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Like all native Chicagoans, I proudly claim the city as my hometown. And when I say "the city" I mean within the city limits, not the suburbs. We're very specific about that. These teen fiction books chronicle daily life in Sweet Home Chicago. One local author who perfectly captures the vibe of the Northwest Side…
View More about Sweet Home Chicago: Teen Books

Rapture Ready (But First, Prom)

Being a teenager can really stink sometimes. Religion can make it easier, or it can make it even more of a chore. You're at that age where you question everything, like the characters in these books, who come from conservative backgrounds and aren't given much freedom to explore spirituality (or anything else) on their own…
View More about Rapture Ready (But First, Prom)
1 - 10 of 213