Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

In the past five years, the love for Wonder by R.J. Palacio has grown and grown. Palacio's story about Auggie Pullman, a fifth-grader with craniofacial differences who must find his way through middle school, had an impact on millions of readers. Readers were thrilled to spend more time in Auggie's world through Auggie & Me and 365 Days of […]

Read More from Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

Festival of Lights: Diwali for Kids

This week people all over the world will begin cleaning their houses, exchanging gifts, eating sweets and lighting candles. Why? Because they're celebrating Diwali. Hindus, Jains, Sikhs and some Buddhists from India to Chicago will observe this festival of lights.  In Hindu tradition, Diwali is the celebration of the triumph of good over evil from […]

Read More from Festival of Lights: Diwali for Kids

Who’s the Boss?

Who’s the boss? Well, baby’s the boss, that’s who! The Boss Baby is a hilarious romp of a picture book detailing the exploits of an infant whose parents cannot keep up with his demands. From crying tantrums (and more tantrums) to midnight feedings, the boss baby has many needs his parents just can’t keep up […]

Read More from Who’s the Boss?

Halloween Tunes for Kids

Ghosts and goblins, witches and vampires, werewolves and mummies, too!  Halloween is my absolute favorite holiday. I love decorating the house, making costumes for trick-or-treating and hosting haunted parties for the kids. If you're planning your own Halloween bash, or just looking to set the mood for a spooktacular October, try one of these frightening but […]

Read More from Halloween Tunes for Kids

Top Picks: Art Books for Kids

From writing code to making sculptures out of trash, there are so many ways to make art. Think you've got what it takes to be a great artist? Why don't you step into my studio and give it a try? Let's start at the very beginning. Before you can paint a picture, you need something […]

Read More from Top Picks: Art Books for Kids