Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

In the past five years, the love for Wonder by R.J. Palacio has grown and grown. Palacio's story about Auggie Pullman, a fifth-grader with craniofacial differences who must find his way through middle school, had an impact on millions of readers. Readers were thrilled to spend more time in Auggie's world through Auggie & Me and 365 Days of…
View More about Wonder-ful Readalikes for Kids

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, We See You’re Turning 50!

A family favorite across generations, Bill Martin, Jr. and Eric Carle's classic Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? is celebrating its 50th year delighting readers. The bright, colorful illustrations and rhythmic repetition of the text draw in young listeners, often followed by refrains of "Read it again!" Brown Bear, Brown Bear is available in multiple formats. Originally…
View More about Brown Bear, Brown Bear, We See You’re Turning 50!

Celebrate 50 Years of Kwanzaa: Books for Kids

Share in the 50th annual celebration of Kwanzaa! Created in 1966 by Dr. Maulana Karenga, Kwanzaa celebrates family, culture and heritage. While it is rooted in African traditions, all people are invited to join in. Kwanzaa starts on December 26 and lasts for seven days, one for each of the Nguzo Saba ("seven principles" in Swahili). Learn more about Kwanzaa and…
View More about Celebrate 50 Years of Kwanzaa: Books for Kids

Pirates in the Movies

Ahoy, mateys! Talk Like a Pirate Day is here. What better way to brush up on your pirate-speak than to watch some pirates in action? Younger children will enjoy an introduction to Peter Pan and his pirate nemesis, Captain Hook. The war between the Lost Boys and the pirates of Neverland is swashbuckling and suspenseful. Watching Captain…
View More about Pirates in the Movies

Thank a Teacher

If you know how to read, thank a teacher. If you know how to add and subtract, thank a teacher. If you are curious about the world, thank a teacher. The first week of May is National Teacher Appreciation Week. What a good reason to read about some teachers who've made a real difference in kids' lives! Matilda loves…
View More about Thank a Teacher

May Flowers

After too many rainy days in a row, spring can start to feel dreary and gray, but the colorful flowers that result make it all worth it. Plus, they provide great opportunities to talk with young children about how plants grow. Flower Garden features simple, rhyming text about a family creating an apartment-ready flower garden. This gentle story follows…
View More about May Flowers

April Showers

Rainy days may make parents rethink plans to take their kids to the park, but kids will jump at the chance to pull on their rain boots and splash in some puddles. Enjoy these great books about rain before you pop up your favorite umbrella and step outside to enjoy the next drizzly day. Blue on Blue uses…
View More about April Showers
1 - 10 of 20