Unlike most free websites, these for-pay sites (free on Library computers or with your library card) are specifically designed to help you with your homework. Get familiar with these sites, and they'll save you time and effort on every research project you do.
Online one-on-one homework help in English and Spanish for elementary through advanced college prep students in core subjects available from 2:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily. Get expert help with writing assignments and English as a second language lessons. Use test prep tools for the ACT/SAT, GED and U.S. citizenship test.
Biography in Context »
Find articles that tell the stories of famous people from all countries and all time periods. Search by name or, using the Person Search, create lists of people based on certain characteristics: what they do (or did) for a living, what country they are from, what American ethnic group they belong to (for example, Hispanic American), whether they are male or female or when they lived.
Use CultureGrams: World Edition to find out how people live in over 200 different countries and territories. What do they wear? How do they greet each other? What are the rules for dating? When do they go shopping? Find recipes and lists of famous people for all covered countries and territories and photographs for selected ones.
"...for Students" Literary Criticism Collection »
Find information to better help you understand the plays, novels, poetry and short stories most read by students. For each covered work, you’ll find an author biography, plot summary, list of characters, and a discussion of work’s themes, style and historical context in addition to an overview of critical approaches to the work and selected critical essays.
Hispánica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica » en español
This general encyclopedia from Spanish publisher Editorial Planeta offers articles, images, maps, videos and more.
History Database Search » teen pick
History Database Search is a gateway to six separate databases that provide background and supplemental information for the study of history:
Search all six at once or browse resources in individual databases. Each database includes articles from numerous reference works; primary sources (with introductory essays); biographies; timelines; images; and maps, charts and tables.
Issues & Controversies »
Issues & Controversies presents overviews of current public policy issues and other controversial topics. This resource is a great place to start for students working on persuasive essays or debates or anyone wanting authoritative background information on the issues making today’s headlines.
Literary Reference Center »
Researching papers for English class is a snap with Literary Reference Center. Find author biographies, plot summaries, character information, critical essays, book reviews and overviews of literary topics. Search by keyword or, if unsure of the spelling of an author’s name or title, browse lists of authors and works.
MedlinePlus in Spanish » en español
MedlinePlus offers overviews and news on a wide range of health topics, from specific diseases and conditions to topics such as teen health, teenage pregnancy, teen sexual health and alcohol and youth. Get answers that you can trust to personal questions and reliable information for homework assignments on health topics.
Science Online »
Use this database to find supplemental information for the study of science. Find encyclopedia articles and definitions, charts and illustrations, experiments, biographies and timelines.
Teen Reference Collection »
This online collection of encyclopedias and other reference books contains short overview articles on topics in geography, health, history, political science, technology and more.
World Book for Students »
World Book for Students (World Book Online Info Finder) offers more than 40,000 encyclopedia articles, as well as an online atlas, an online dictionary, research tools and more.
Magazines and Newspapers
MasterFILE Complete »
Find articles from hundreds of magazines such as History Today, Scientific American, Sports Illustrated, Seventeen and Time.
National Newspapers »
Find articles from dozens of newspapers from around the country. Papers covered include the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, USA Today and Washington Post.
SIRS Researcher »
SIRS Researcher includes magazine and newspaper articles as well as other documents on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political and global issues specifically chosen for upper-elementary and high school students. The Leading Issues pages are particularly helpful for students writing a persuasive essay or preparing for a debate.
ARCO Master the ASVAB »
This title offers test-taking tips, diagnostic tests, review and five practice exams with answers and detailed explanations for all portions of the ASVAB.
Peterson's Master the SAT »
This ebook offers test-taking strategies, provides diagnostic tools, reviews key concepts and includes six full-length practice exams with answers and explanations.
Find a Good Book to Read
Fiction Connection »
Nonfiction Connection »
Not sure what to read next? Type in the name of a book you’ve enjoyed in the past to find similar titles or simply type in a few words that describe what you’re looking for to get reading suggestions.
Find a new book to read by picking what types of people should be in the story, what happens in the story, and where and when the story takes place. Like Fiction Connection and Nonfiction Connection, NoveList allows you to look up a book you’ve enjoyed in the past and find others similar to it. NoveList also offers numerous lists of award-winning titles for teens as well as more general lists of graphic novels, romances, mysteries, etc.