Use these resources on any Chicago Public Library computer or on non-Library computers with your Chicago Public Library card.
Online one-on-one homework help in English and Spanish for elementary students in core subjects available from 2:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily. Get expert help with writing assignments and English as a second language lessons.
Find information about places around the world and close to home. CultureGrams: Kids Edition includes information about countries and territories and the people that live there. States Edition includes information about the 50 states. Provinces Edition covers the 13 Canadian provinces and territories.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos » en español
The Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos offers encyclopedia articles in Spanish for students in grades two through six. The encyclopedia’s list of articles may be browsed in English as well as Spanish, though the articles are entirely in Spanish.
Kids Search »
Find articles from magazines for elementary school students.
Kids Reference Collection »
This online collection of encyclopedias and other reference books contains overview articles on countries, drugs, fashion, food, history, government, people (biographies), religion, science, television and the U.S. and Mexican states.
Little Pim »
Learn a new language with Little Pim!
NoveList K-8 »
People of all ages can find picture books, easy readers, chapter books or books for teens by picking what types of people should be in the story, what happens in the story, and where and when the story takes place. Users can look up a book they’ve enjoyed in the past and find others similar to it. NoveList K-8 also includes lists of award-winning titles or titles of a particular type (for example, mysteries).
World Book for Kids »
Find short, easy-to-read introductions to thousands of topics as well as maps, pictures, games, word definitions and more. Based on the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia, this online encyclopedia is a great fit for students in grades two through five.
World Book for Students »
World Book for Students (World Book Online Info Finder) offers more than 40,000 encyclopedia articles, as well as an online atlas, an online dictionary, research tools and more. Recommended for students in grades three and up.