Beatrix Potter’s Tale of Kitty-In-Boots Is Here

The Tale of Kitty-in-Boots cover

Once upon a time there was a serious, well-behaved young black cat. So begins the very last story ever written by legendary children's author and illustrator Beatrix Potter. The never-before-published story The Tale Of Kitty-In-Boots is finally available on the 150th anniversary of Potter's birth, with illustrations by Quentin Blake. You'll have to check out a copy […]

Read More

Audiobook Narrator Spotlight: Simon Vance

Neumann U87 Condenser Microphone

Audiobooks are a wonderful way to get more “reading” into your daily routine. Oftentimes it can be hard to immerse yourself in a story being read to you, so narration plays a huge part. A skillful narrator is so important that AudioFile has gone so far as to create a Golden Voice category to highlight […]

Read More

Who Was Mata Hari?

Mata Hari

With the recent publication of Mata Hari's Last Dance, Michelle Moran expertly paints fiction between what we know for sure about the famed dancer, courtesan, and terribly inept spy. Born Margaretha Zelle in Holland, Mata Hari chose her stage name upon coming to Paris after a miserable youth. Teaming up with the ambitious lawyer/agent Edouard Clunet, she […]

Read More

#TBT: Happy Birthday, Michael Keaton!

Acotr Michael Keaton at a microphone

Michael Keaton turned 65 this past Monday, so for this Throwback Thursday we're going to take a look at some films from his early career. Before Christian Bale or Ben Affleck sneered their way into the Batcave, Tim Burton's Batman reestablished the world's greatest detective as the dark and brooding character we know now, instead of the […]

Read More

Gone Girl Readalikes: Teen Edition

Source: NovemberRaindrop, Morguefile

Ever since Gone Girl rocked the literary world and the movie banked major box office bucks, readers have been dying for more suspenseful murder mysteries. Check out the latest teen Gone Girl readalikes. At an elite New York City prep school, con artist Kate manipulates fragile classmate Olivia as her new "friend" falls for charming sociopath Mark in Beware That Girl. Can Kate […]

Read More

Quiz: How Well Do You Know Star Trek?

The Fifty-Year Mission book cover

It was 50 years ago this month that we first heard the now famous monologue, “Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise…” Few would have guessed that Star Trek would become the juggernaut it is today. It’s spawned multiple TV shows, 13 movies, numerous books, comic books, board and video […]

Read More

Sure-to-Please Late Summer Reads

As Brave As You book cover

Losing myself in a good book is one of my favorite things to do on a lazy summer day, and I bet it's one of yours, too. So why not drag your vacation out just a little longer with one of these warm weather reads? As Brave as You:  Do you know the best way to clean up […]

Read More

Reduce Stress with Mindfulness

Source: morgancari, Flickr Commons

It's easy to remember to eat and sleep, but sometimes it isn't so easy to remember to take care of our bodies and minds. While we're on the topic of self-care, I've been listening to a bunch of podcasts and reading a lot of books about mindfulness, which seems like a trendy buzzword—but there's a good reason for […]

Read More

Tough Broads 3: Broads In Space

Peggy Whitson

Are you a fan of captains Kathryn Janeway and Susan Ivanova? Think Rey may be the best new character in a galaxy far, far away? Then there are books to keep you occupied between installments. These are the newest in the tradition of female derring-do among the stars. K.B. Wagers' Behind the Throne stars Hail Bristol, heir […]

Read More

Another Opening, Another Show…

featured image

Shakespeare-in-the-park season is almost over, and the regular theater season is about to pick back up again. Here are a few books to keep you occupied, whether you're waiting for that callback or for the curtain to rise. While one might enjoy Song of Spider-Man (read my blog about it here) for its train-wreck hilarity, it's nice to […]

Read More