Teen Tales from Beyond the Grave

Source: jeepersmedia, Flickr

As Halloween approaches, sink your teeth into one of these teen tales of the undead from shambling zombies to stalking ghouls. In Afterlife With Archie, Jughead gets more than he bargained for when he asks Sabrina the Teenage Witch to revive his beloved dog, Hot Dog. As the idyllic town of Riverdale is overrun with the […]

Read More

Teen Shakespeare Retellings

Exit, Pursued by A Bear book cover

Did you know Shakespeare invented the romantic comedy? And about 1,700 words? If you want to get the gist of Shakespeare's stories without decoding the "wherefore arts," here are some teen retellings of Shakespeare's plays that will have you rolling or shaking in your seats. Exit, Pursued by A Bear by E.K. Johnston is a mix of The Winter's Tale, […]

Read More

Gone Girl Readalikes: Teen Edition

Source: NovemberRaindrop, Morguefile

Ever since Gone Girl rocked the literary world and the movie banked major box office bucks, readers have been dying for more suspenseful murder mysteries. Check out the latest teen Gone Girl readalikes. At an elite New York City prep school, con artist Kate manipulates fragile classmate Olivia as her new "friend" falls for charming sociopath Mark in Beware That Girl. Can Kate […]

Read More

Reduce Stress with Mindfulness

Source: morgancari, Flickr Commons

It's easy to remember to eat and sleep, but sometimes it isn't so easy to remember to take care of our bodies and minds. While we're on the topic of self-care, I've been listening to a bunch of podcasts and reading a lot of books about mindfulness, which seems like a trendy buzzword—but there's a good reason for […]

Read More

Spoken Word Inspiration

Source: Nalleli Sierra, Chicago Public Library

If you dream about going onstage and becoming a slam poet, check out this list of recommendations to help you develop your skills as a performance artist. Take the Mic contains everything you need to know about writing, performing and building a career as a slam poet. Get inspired by reading and listening to the poetry of many […]

Read More

Boulevards and Byways: YA Road Trips

Source: xandert, morgueFile

Dreaming of an epic getaway? Check out these road trip stories and soon enough, you'll be speeding down the open highway with the sun on your face and the wind in your hair. In The Museum of Intangible Things, Hannah and Zoe have never had much except for each other. So when Zoe decides she needs to get out of […]

Read More

School’s in Session: Teen Fiction

Source: Innovadn, Flickr

Here's your fall schedule featuring books in which teens experience extraordinary situations on the first day of school. Subject: Freshman Orientation Infinite in Between follows five friends who meet on the first day of high school and face unexpected twists and turns over the next four years. Infinite In Between is available in other formats. Subject: Ethics Another group of classmates […]

Read More

In Search of Spanish Poets

Source: Flickr, Abdulsalam Haykal

Many Spanish-language writers are known for their unforgettable poetry, such as the nocturnal and dreamlike worlds of Federico Garcia Lorca, the warm and romantic memories of Pablo Neruda and the powerful and emotional spirit of Gabriela Mistral. Poets invite us to places filled with loss, sorrow, passion and life. If you're an aspiring poet, you might want to take a […]

Read More

Train Journeys

Source: ranbud, morgueFile

In Chicago, we're used to the train rattling and roaring through our neighborhoods and downtown. Between the Pink, Blue, Brown, Red, Green, Orange, Metra and South Shore commuter trains, we can travel all over the city and its suburbs. But did you know that Chicago is also considered a national railway center? In addition to the […]

Read More

Did Someone Say G-g-g-ghosts!?

Source: danxoneil, "Eternal Silence," Flickr

Have you ever wondered what really lies beneath the home plate at Wrigley Field? Chicago's history is full of scary stories, terrible fires and hard times. If you're fascinated by the unknown, venture out and explore Chicago's haunted sites. To start, you could stop by Graceland cemetery. Take a photograph or draw a picture of Lorado Taft's sculpture, Eternal […]

Read More