Let CPL Help You Make History with History Fair

Chiago Metro History Fair

Are you participating in History Fair this year? Does your teacher expect you to conduct historical research? Are you wondering where and how to begin? Are you looking for primary resources or images for an exhibit board, website or documentary? At CPL, we can help you with all of these. Getting Started After you’ve selected your topic, start […]

Read More

CPL’s 2016 Teen Mock Book Awards

Mock Printz Books

Each year before the winners of American Library Association's Youth Media Awards are announced, CPL librarians come together to nominate and discuss our own Mock Book Awards to honor some of our favorite titles of the year. Here are the 2016 teen books we chose. Mock Printz Award for Literary Excellence Winner: We Are the Ants […]

Read More

Get the Facts: 5 Articles About Fake News

friends sharing news

While I'm sure no one would mistake the headline “Red Riding Hood and the Wolf Elope in Vegas While Grandma Scuba Dives in Bermuda” as real news, recent studies show people are having difficulty judging real news from fake because of the rapid rise of internet-based fake news sites. This trend is especially true on social […]

Read More

Ho! Ho! Ho! Holiday Horror Movies

Christmas Candle

It's the most wonderful time of the year, with the kids jingle belling and everyone telling you be of good cheer It's the most wonderful time of the year! If the lyrics of Edward Pola and George Wyle's ubiquitous Christmas single are more apt to fill you with dread than cheer, you've come to the right […]

Read More

Get to Know Comic Artist Gene Luen Yang

American Born Chinese and Boxers Book Covers

The next time someone tells you that you need to do something with your life and stop reading comics, you may need to respectfully inform them about the literary merits of comics, manga and graphic novels. It might not hurt, too, to mention that a comic artist, Gene Luen Yang, was named a fellow of […]

Read More

Teen Tales from Beyond the Grave

Source: jeepersmedia, Flickr

As Halloween approaches, sink your teeth into one of these teen tales of the undead from shambling zombies to stalking ghouls. In Afterlife With Archie, Jughead gets more than he bargained for when he asks Sabrina the Teenage Witch to revive his beloved dog, Hot Dog. As the idyllic town of Riverdale is overrun with the […]

Read More

Teen Shakespeare Retellings

Exit, Pursued by A Bear book cover

Did you know Shakespeare invented the romantic comedy? And about 1,700 words? If you want to get the gist of Shakespeare's stories without decoding the "wherefore arts," here are some teen retellings of Shakespeare's plays that will have you rolling or shaking in your seats. Exit, Pursued by A Bear by E.K. Johnston is a mix of The Winter's Tale, […]

Read More

Gone Girl Readalikes: Teen Edition

Source: NovemberRaindrop, Morguefile

Ever since Gone Girl rocked the literary world and the movie banked major box office bucks, readers have been dying for more suspenseful murder mysteries. Check out the latest teen Gone Girl readalikes. At an elite New York City prep school, con artist Kate manipulates fragile classmate Olivia as her new "friend" falls for charming sociopath Mark in Beware That Girl. Can Kate […]

Read More

Reduce Stress with Mindfulness

Source: morgancari, Flickr Commons

It's easy to remember to eat and sleep, but sometimes it isn't so easy to remember to take care of our bodies and minds. While we're on the topic of self-care, I've been listening to a bunch of podcasts and reading a lot of books about mindfulness, which seems like a trendy buzzword—but there's a good reason for […]

Read More

Spoken Word Inspiration

Source: Nalleli Sierra, Chicago Public Library

If you dream about going onstage and becoming a slam poet, check out this list of recommendations to help you develop your skills as a performance artist. Take the Mic contains everything you need to know about writing, performing and building a career as a slam poet. Get inspired by reading and listening to the poetry of many […]

Read More